A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.


Appointments to the Children’s Hospital Group Board

Published: 17 August 2017
From: Department of Health

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following persons as members of the Children’s hospital Group Board. These re-appointments are from 31 July 2017 to 31 July 2020.

Dr James J Browne (Chairperson)

Dr Browne was appointed President of NUI Galway in 2008. His leadership roles include membership of Irish Universities Quality Board until 2012; President of Engineers Ireland 2008/2009; member of the Senate of the National University of Ireland; member of the board of Central Applications Office; member of the former National Research Support Board; member of the former Irish Council for Science, Technology and Innovation; member of the EPSRC Review Group on Engineering Research Centres in the UK; member of the board of Galway University Foundation and member of the board of Music for Galway. He has extensive experience both as a project leader and partner in multi-million euro European Union funded research and development projects including joint industry / university projects between European partners and partners in China, United States and Japan. He served as a European member on the board of IMS (Integrated Manufacturing Systems). He presently serves as Chairman of the Irish Universities Association.

Dr Browne has significant industrial experience, having spent some years working with Nortel Networks (then Northern Telecom) in Canada and Ireland. He has also consulted with a wide range of Irish and international corporations.

Mr Sean Sheehan

Mr Sheehan is Chair of the Board of Children’s University Hospital, Temple Street. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Certified Accountants. He joined Brother Ireland in 1987 as Financial Controller, having worked at senior management level in the hotel/catering and agricultural business sectors also. Prior to joining Brother, he was a locum Accounts and Finance Director at Temple Street, Children’s University Hospital and has extensive skills in financial planning, strategic planning and change management. Mr Sheehan has a broad range of business skills and became Managing Director of the Irish subsidiary of Brother International in 1994 until his retirement in March 2013.

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following person as a member of the Children’s hospital Group Board. This appointment is from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2020.

Mr Turlough O’Sullivan

Turlough O’Sullivan is currently Deputy Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin.

He served as Director General of IBEC from 2000-2009.

He was a member of the Executive Board of Business Europe; the Council of the International Organisation of Employers in Geneva; a member of the National Implementation Body; the National Economic and Social Council and a board member of the Labour Relations Commission.

He is Managing Director of Resolve Ireland, a company that provides independent investigation, dispute resolution and whistleblowing services in the private and public sectors.

He is also a company director and chairman and provides consultancy services in business strategy and organisation.

He was educated at University College Dublin and The London School of Economics.

Part of