A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Press Release

Appeal Panel established in relation to the CAR Determination on the Maximum Level of Airport Charges at Dublin Airport

Published: 10 February 2020
From: Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport

The Commission for Aviation Regulation published its Determination on the Maximum Level of Airport Charges at Dublin Airport in accordance with Section 32 of the Aviation Regulation Act, 2001 as amended (“the Act”), on 24 October 2019.

Section 40 (2) of the Act, as amended, provides that the Minister shall, upon a request in writing from a person to whom this section applies, establish a panel to consider an appeal by that person against the Determination.

Relevant parties who wished to appeal the Commission’s Determination had until 24 January 2020 to submit their requests. Following the receipt of two appeals within the timeframe as provided for under the Act, the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross, has decided to establish an Appeal Panel to consider these requests for appeal.

The Appeal Panel was established on the 4 February 2020 and the Minister has appointed Mr Eoin McCullough SC as Chair. Ms Hannah Nixon who has extensive experience in the area of economic regulation and Mr Andrew Charlton who has extensive experience in the aviation industry have also been appointed by the Minister to the Appeal Panel.

As provided for in legislation, the Appeal Panel has 3 months to complete its work i.e by 4 May 2020. The Appeal Panel may confirm the Determination or refer the decision in relation to the Determination back to the Commission for review.