A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

Bodies under the aegis of the Department of Defence

Published: 21 October 2019
From: Department of Defence Department of Defence

Army Pensions Board

The only State body currently under the aegis of the Department of Defence is the Army Pensions Board. The Army Pensions Board is an independent statutory body, established under the Army Pensions Act 1927, and is based in St. Bricin's Military Hospital in Dublin.

The Act specifies that the Board shall consist of a chairman and two ordinary members. The two ordinary members must be qualified medical practitioners of whom one must be an officer of the Army Medical Corps. The chairman and the non military ordinary member are appointed by the Minister for Defence with the concurrence of the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform. The Army Medical Corps ordinary member is appointed by the Minister for Defence on the recommendation of the Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces.

Day to day worked related to the Board is undertaken by Board's Secretary who is a full time civil servant employed by the Department of Defence. The Board does not directly employ any staff.