A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

Executive Branch

Published: 1 November 2019
From: Department of Defence

Executive Branch is divided into two units. The Aviation and Maritime Unit and the Security and State Ceremonial Unit.

The Aviation and Maritime Unit has responsibility for all policy matters relating to Naval Service and Air Corps’ domestic operations. This includes air ambulance, the Ministerial Air Transport Service (MATS) and fishery protection. The Unit also has responsibility for the Army Equitation School.

The Security and State Ceremonial Unit has responsibility for a wide range of functions including Defence Forces assistance in major emergencies, matters relating to Aid to the Civil Power and Aid to the Civil Authority. This Unit also has responsibility for coordination of the role played by the Department and the Defence Forces in the Decade of Centenaries Programme (2012-2022), and for managing the Military Service Pension Collection (MSPC) project.