A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Press Release

Minister Donohoe announces Winners of the 2018 Civil Service Excellence and Innovation Awards

Published: 23 November 2018
From: Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

The Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe TD, announced the winners of the 2018 Civil Service Excellence and Innovation Awards yesterday (Thursday, 22nd November).

The awards are held annually and were established under the Civil Service Renewal Programme to recognise the achievements of civil servants and showcase examples of best practice and innovation in government departments and offices.

The awards ceremony was held in last night in St. Patrick’s Hall, Dublin Castle, and was attended by the shortlisted project teams from across the Civil Service, those involved in the awards process and senior civil servants.

Speaking at the event, Minister Donohoe congratulated all of the staff who participated:

“Tonight is a very special night for the Civil Service and I congratulate all of the staff who submitted applications for the awards, those who worked on the shortlisted projects and those of you who are connected to the award-winning initiatives. These projects highlight the best practice that we see every day in our workplaces. The passion and commitment of staff to deliver on their objectives is a common thread that shines through all of the projects that have been shortlisted.”

Reflecting on the challenges facing the Civil Service for delivering in the future, the Minister also said:

“The work of the Civil Service is complex and diverse and the awards speak to that reality. As we face many future challenges, the Civil Service has to be able to respond and continue to play its part in meeting those challenges. It is a core strength of Ireland’s capacity to develop and prosper.”

The Minister was joined by the Secretary General of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, Robert Watt, who remarked:

“The standard of projects this year was particularly high and reflects very well on the staff of the Civil Service. It shows the commitment, energy and innovation that civil servants are bringing to their roles. The changes we are making under the Civil Service Renewal Programme are helping to improve our capacity to be more effective and the award-winning projects are testament to the way in which civil servants are engaging with them.”

The winners are:

    Award Winner Project
    Leading Civil Service Renewal Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment Employee Engagement Programme
    Digital Excellence Office of the Revenue Commissioners Redesign of the Revenue Website
    Research Analytics and Insight Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht The Great Irish Famine Online
    Excellence in Customer Service Department of Rural and Community Development My Open Library
    Excellence in Policy Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government The National Planning Framework
    Excellence in Innovation Forensic Science Ireland Leading Europe in the Interpretation of Complex DNA Evidence
    Excellence in People Skills and Organisational Development Department of Justice and Equality Joint-Agency Response to Crime (J-ARC)
    Excellence Through Collaboration Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade First Direct Air Routes Ireland - Beijing and Hong Kong
    Citizen Impact Department of Children and Youth Affairs AIM for Preschool Children
    World Class Civil Service Department of the Taoiseach The Citizens' Assembly


Notes to the Editor:

The awards were established under the Civil Service Renewal plan. This year, 70 nominations were received from across the Civil Service and 30 projects were shortlisted. There were 11 award-winning projects.

Download the list above in PDF form: Civil Service Awards 2018.