The OPW conservation works have been in progress since approx. 2008 and have involved the painstaking retrieval of significant parts of the buildings on the site, saving elements that were at risk of structural failure and carefully reinstating significant parts of the Castle, the earliest parts of which were built by William de Burgo in 1199. Work continues at the site and the OPW has provided public access walkways into the heart of the historic site so that visitors can safely walk into the complex and experience the Castle at close range. The public will, as well as having a guided tour around those parts of the site which have already been conserved, be able to see conservation work continuing on other structures, such as the famous Hellfire Club, built in the middle of the site and yet to be conserved. Visitors will be able to see the skilled stonemasons and workers of the OPW perform this work and see them apply their craft at close range, adding considerably to their visit and their appreciation of the work being done at Askeaton. Askeaton Civic Trust Tourist Office have assisted over the years in promoting these wonderful buildings and telling its extensive history.