A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.


Early Years Recognised Qualifications

Published: 27 August 2018
From: Department of Children and Youth Affairs

This list contains all qualifications which have been approved by the Department of Children and Youth Affairs (DCYA). It also sets out the appropriate level of DCYA approval, for example:

  • meets regulatory requirements
  • eligible for Room Leader - standard capitation
  • eligible for Room Leader - higher capitation

If your qualification is on the list you do not need to apply to DCYA for qualifications recognition.

If your early childhood care and education qualification does not appear on the list you may apply to have it assessed for approval.

Early Years Recognised Qualifications

A list of Early Years qualifications recognised for the purposes of meeting the requirements of the Child Care Act 1991 Regulations 2016 and DCYA Childcare Programme Contracts.


Professional Award Criteria and Guidelines for initial professional education (Level 7 and 8) new degree programmes beginning in 2021 and later, for the Early Learning and Care sector in Ireland have been published by the Minister of Education and Skills. The Guidelines are available for download here.

The Department of Education and Skills in conjunction with the Department of Children and Youth Affairs will shortly establish a Qualifications Advisory Board to manage the review of the new programmes for their coherence with the Professional Award Criteria and Guidelines in advance of their submission for validation by their authorised body (i.e. QQI or HEIs)

Part of