A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.


The Department of Finance Audit Committee

Published: 19 January 2018
From: Department of Finance

The Department of Finance Audit Committee is comprised of both external members, Ms Patricia Byron (Chair), Mr Liam Irwin and Ms Ilona McElroy and executive members, Mr John McCarthy and Ms Emma Cunningham.

The Audit Committee, which reports to the Secretary General, works to an agreed Charter. Minutes of Audit Committee meetings are available below.

The role of the Audit Committee is:

  • to consider the adequacy and effectiveness of the Department’s internal control systems, control environment and control procedures.
  • to oversee the work of Internal Audit and to provide advice and professional guidance.
  • to provide advice and guidance in relation to the systems of risk management and internal control within the Department.

Minutes of Audit Committee meetings and annual reports are available below.

Audit Committee Minutes

Audit Committee Annual Reports