Twenty-Second Dáil (30.6.1981 - 27.1.1982)

Seventeenth Government (30.6.1981 - 9.3.1982)

Name:	Post held:
Garret FitzGerald	Taoiseach
Michael O'Leary	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) Tánaiste and Minister for Energy* (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Peter Barry	*(Industry and Energy w.e.f. 21.8.81) Minister for the Environment (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
James Tully	Minister for Defence (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Tom Fitzpatrick	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Eileen Desmond	Minister for Health and Social Welfare (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
John Bruton	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Liam Kavanagh	Minister for Labour and Minister for the Public Service
Patrick Cooney	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) Minister for Transport and Minister for Posts and Telegraphs (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
John Kelly	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) Minister for Industry, Commerce and Tourism* *(<i>Trade, Commerce and Tourism w.e.f. 21.8.81</i>) Minister for Foreign Affairs (30.6.81 -21.10.81)
James Dooge	Minister for Foreign Affairs (21.10.81- 9.3.82)
John Boland	Minister for Education (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Paddy O'Toole	Minister for Gaeltacht (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Jim Mitchell	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)
Alan Dukes	(30.6.81 - 9.3.82) Minister for Agriculture (30.6.81 - 9.3.82)

Notes:

- 1. Fine Gael/Labour coalition Government.
- 2. James Dooge, who was a Senator, was not appointed Minister for Foreign Affairs until after the Seanad Elections, which do not take place until after the new Dáil has met and a Government has been appointed. John Kelly held the post of Minister for Foreign Affairs pending Mr. Dooge's appointment.

3. The Government can, under the Ministers and Secretaries Acts, amalgamate existing Departments or separate the functions of a particular Department into new or separate Departments

i.e. Department Title change from the Department of Energy to Industry and Energy w.e.f. 21.8.81 Department Title change from Industry, Commerce and Tourism to Trade,Commerce and Tourism w.e.f 21.8.81

Twenty-Second Dáil (30.6.1981 - 27.1.1982)

Seventeenth Government

(Ministers of State)

Name:

Post held:

Gerry L'Estrange	MOS at Dept. of Taoiseach (Govt. Whip) and MOS at Dept. of Defence (to: 11.11.1981) MOS at Dept. of Health (from: 11.11.1981)
Michael Begley	MOS at Dept. Industry, Commerce and Tourism
Joseph Bermingham	MOS at Dept. of Finance
Edward Collins	MOS at Dept. of Energy
Donal Creed	MOS at Dept. of Health
	(to: 11.11.1981)
	MOS at Dept. of the Environment
	(from: 11.11.1981)
Mary Flaherty	MOS at Dept. Social Welfare
Michael D'Arcy	MOS at Dept. of Agriculture
Barry Desmond	MOS at Dept. of Finance
Michael Keating	MOS at Dept. of Education
Ted Nealon	MOS at Dept. of Agriculture
Fergus O'Brien	MOS at Dept. of the Environment
	(to: 11.11.1981)
	MOS at Dept. of the Taoiseach and
	MOS at Dept. of Defence
	(from: 11.11.1981)
Jim O'Keeffe	MOS at Dept. of Foreign Affairs
Dick Spring	MOS at Dept. of Justice
Patrick D. Harte	MOS at Dept. of Posts and Telegraphs

Note:

Fine Gael/Labour coalition Government.