History of Government – Twenty-Third Dáil

Twenty-Third Dáil (9.3.1982 - 14.12.1982)

Gerard Brady

Eighteenth Government (9.3.1982 - 14.12.1982)

Name: Post held: Charles J. Haughey Taoiseach (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Minister for Education (7.10.82 - 27.10.82)Ray MacSharry Tánaiste and Minister for Finance (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Brian J. Lenihan Minister for Agriculture (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Minister for Trade, Commerce and Tourism Desmond J. O'Malley (9.3.82 - 6.10.82 -resigned) Pádraig Flynn Minister for the Gaeltacht (9.3.82 - 27.10.82)Minister for Trade, Commerce and Tourism (27.10.82 - 14.12.82) Gerard Collins Minister for Foreign Affairs (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Minister for Public Service and Gene Fitzgerald Minister for Labour (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) John P. Wilson Minister for Transport and Minister for Posts and Telegraphs (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Martin O'Donoghue Minister for Education (9.3.82 - 6.10.82 - resigned) Minister for Health and Minister for Social Welfare Michael J. Woods (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Patrick Power Minister for Defence (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Albert Reynolds Minister for Industry and Energy (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Minister for Trade, Commerce and Tourism (7.10.82 - 27.10.82)Minister for the Environment Raphael P. Burke (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Brendan Daly Minister for Fisheries and Forestry (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Sean Doherty Minister for Justice (9.3.82 - 14.12.82) Denis Gallagher Minister for the Gaeltacht (27.10.1982 - 14.12.82)

Minister for Education (27.10.1982 - 14.12.82)

History of Government – Twenty-Third Dáil

Notes:

- 1. Single-party Fianna Fáil Government.
- 2. Charles J. Haughey and Albert Reynolds acted as Ministers for Education and Trade, Commerce and Tourism, respectively, from the 6.10.82 27.10.82 following the resignations of Desmond J. O'Malley and Martin O'Donoghue until new appointments were made.

Twenty-Third Dáil (9.3.1982 - 14.12.1982)

Eighteenth Government

(Ministers of State)

Name:	Post held:
Bertie Ahern	MOS at Dept. of the Taoiseach (Govt. Whip) and MOS at Dept. of Defence (9.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Sylvester Barrett	MOS at Dept. of Finance (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Máire Geoghegan-Quinn	MOS at Dept. of Education (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Lorcan Allen	MOS at Dept. of Agriculture (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Gerard Connolly	MOS at Dept. of the Environment (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Thomas McEllistrim	MOS at Dept. of Fisheries and Forestry (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Denis Gallagher	MOS at Dept. of Social Welfare (23.3.82 - 27.10.82 - appointed Minister for the
Rory O'Hanlon	Gaeltacht) MOS at Dept. of Social Welfare (28.10.1982 - 14.12.82)
Bernard Cowen	MOS at Dept. of Agriculture (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Gerard Brady	MOS at Dept. of the Environment (23.3.82- 27.10.1982 - appointed Minister for Education)
Niall Andrews	MOS at Dept. of the Environment (27.10.1982 - 14.12.82)
Terry Leyden	MOS at Dept. of Transport MOS at Dept. of Posts and Telegraphs (23.3.82 - 14.12.82)
Sean Calleary	MOS at Dept. of Trade, Commerce and Tourism (28.10.82-14.12.82)
Jim Fitzsimons	MOS at Dept. of Industry and Energy (28.10.82 - 14.12.82)

Note:

Single-party Fianna Fáil Government.