A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

Bodies under the aegis of the Department of Rural and Community Development

Published: 29 November 2018
From: Department of Rural and Community Development


In accordance with the 2016 Code of Practice for the Governance of State Bodies and in the interest of good governance in the public sector, all state bodies are subject to oversight and accountability to ensure that there are robust and effective governance arrangements in place in state bodies under its aegis.

There are four bodies under the aegis of this department:

Western Development Commission

The Western Development Commission (WDC) is a statutory body that was set up to promote both social and economic development in the western region (Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway and Clare).

It ensures government policy is directed at improving the social and economic situation in the region, through support for projects in a wide variety of sectors. It also manages the WDC Investment Fund to provide loans and equity to business and local communities in the West.


Pobal works on behalf of government to manage and implement a number of publicly funded programmes designed to improve outcomes for local communities, particularly those encountering social and economic disadvantage.

Water Safety Ireland

The department provides oversight and support to Water Safety Ireland (previously Irish Water Safety) in its mission to reduce the number of deaths by drowning, through increased education, instruction and public awareness measures.

Charities Regulator

The Charities Regulator is Ireland’s national statutory regulator for charitable organisations.

It maintains a public register of all charitable organisations in Ireland and ensures their statutory compliance. It also promotes and supports best practice in the charitable sector.

Further Information

The Department provides secretarial support to the Charity Appeals Tribunal.

The Charity Appeals Tribunal is a statutory body established with effect from 1 August 2016. The function of the tribunal is to hear and adjudicate on appeals against certain decisions of the Charities Regulator, under Section 45 of the Charities Act 2009. The tribunal is independent in the performance of its statutory functions. The rules of the tribunal came into effect from 4 July 2018.

Please see here for a list of members of State Boards under the aegis of the department.

For details on how to become a member of a State Board see StateBoards.ie