A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015

Published: 3 December 2018
From: Department of Finance


The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 which came into effect on 1 September 2015 provides that the Standards in Public Office Commission will establish and maintain an online Register of lobbying activity.

The purpose of the register is to make information available to the public on the identity of those communicating with designated public officials on specific policy, legislative matters or prospective decisions. Lobbyists must report on their interactions with the Designated Public Officials.

Section 6(4) of the Act requires each public body to publish a list of designated public officials. The purpose of the list is twofold:

  • to allow members of the public to identify those persons who are designated public officials
  • to act as a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the register who may need to source a designated public official’s details

The Department of Finance's Designated Public Officials are set out below.


Secretary General

Assistant Secretary Generals

Head of the Shareholding & Financial Advisory Division

Director of the International Finance Division

Advisers to the Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform

Deborah Sweeney

Ed Brophy

Niamh Callaghan

Adviser to the Minister of State for Finance

Caroline Hofman

Transparency Code

Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 – Transparency Code