A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Policy Information

Peace IV Programme (Ireland/ Northern Ireland)

Published: 29 November 2018
From: Department of Rural and Community Development and Department of Education and Skills, Department of Children and Youth Affairs


The Peace IV Programme is a European Union initiative designed to support peace and reconciliation in Northern Ireland and the border counties of Ireland. The Programme will invest €270 million in the eligible region over the six year period from 2014 to 2020.

€229 million is being provided through the European Regional Development Fund with the Irish and UK governments providing an additional €41 million of match funding. The Irish government funding is provided by the Department of Rural and Community Development, the Department of Education and the Department of Children and Youth Affairs.

Included Areas

The eligible area for the PEACE IV Programme for 2014-2020 is Northern Ireland and the border counties of Ireland (Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Louth, Monaghan and Sligo).


The PEACE IV Programme was agreed by the Northern Ireland Executive, the Irish government and the European Commission and has four core objectives. The programme aims to make lasting change in:

  • shared education initiatives
  • support for marginalised children and young people
  • the provision of new shared spaces and services, and
  • support for projects to build positive relations between people from different communities and backgrounds

Programme Management

The PEACE IV Programme is managed by the Special EU Programmes Body (SEUPB ) on behalf of the Irish and UK governments. SEUPB is a North South Implementation Body established under the Good Friday Agreement.

The role of the SEUPB is to:

  • manage, monitor and evaluate the programme (Managing Authority)
  • manage all financial management aspects and make payments to project beneficiaries (Certifying Authority)
  • support the programme's project selection Steering Committee (Joint Secretariat)
  • assist programme beneficiaries with project implementation (Joint Secretariat)
  • ensure the legality and regularity of all expenditure (Financial Control Unit).

Role of the Department of Rural and Community Development

The Department of Rural and Community Development is an accountable department for the PEACE Programme. As an accountable Department, it:

  • provides funding to the SEUPB for payment to PEACE Programme projects
  • acts as an advisor on the Programme Monitoring Committee, which monitors the effectiveness and quality of the programme. It carries out such duties as approving selection criteria, reviews progress towards targets and evaluates the impact of actions
  • is a member of the Programme Steering Committee, which selects projects for support under the programme.

For information on how to apply for funding, please click the following link: Apply for PEACE IV funding

The Department of Public Expenditure and Reform and the Department of Finance (Northern Ireland) are the Member State Departments – they have overall responsibility for the programme.