A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Policy Information

Atlantic Economic Corridor

Published: 13 November 2018
From: Department of Rural and Community Development


The Atlantic Economic Corridor (AEC) stretches along the western seaboard of Ireland. This region includes 10 local authority regions from Donegal to Kerry. The region is seen as having a lot of potential for future economic growth.

This is a long-term project that aims to encourage this growth. It will provide as much benefit as possible to people and communities in the region.

It hopes to:

  • develop the business and innovation culture
  • encourage investment in infrastructure
  • attract foreign direct investment (FDI)
  • support local Irish companies with global ambitions.

The Corridor is already home to strong culture of enterprise and innovation, with hundreds of successful businesses operating there. These include ambitious start-ups, established multinationals and Irish owned firms expanding to global markets.

Project Ireland 2040 recognises the important potential of the Atlantic Economic Corridor. Project Ireland 2040 is the government’s main initiative to make Ireland a better country that reflects the best of who we are and what we aspire to be. It is clear that developing the region will help achieve this goal by bringing benefits to businesses, communities, locals and to Ireland as a whole.

How the Atlantic Economic Corridor is being developed

In March 2017, a taskforce was set up with the aim of devising strategies and policies to encourage the development of the region.

Seán Canney TD, Minister of State for Community Development, Natural Resources and Digital Development, chairs this taskforce. It also includes representatives from:

  • the business sector
  • government departments
  • public bodies
  • third-level institutions.

The taskforce has three subgroups that work on specific parts of the development plan:

  • examining infrastructure needs (roads, water, and broadband). This will help to better understand the needs of the region and to help direct investment in the future
  • examining what buildings are already available in the region that could be used by businesses to develop and grow. The Corridor will also help places in the region to develop future strategies to better use their buildings
  • developing a communications strategy to better coordinate the actions of government agencies and public bodies. These will help to develop the region and to draw the attention of investors, entrepreneurs and businesses to the potential of the region

What department funds are used for

The department funds an Atlantic Economic Corridor officer in each of the 10 local authorities along the corridor. These officers will be important in driving the project forward by:

  • developing and promoting related policies and projects
  • establishing links between the local authorities to make sure they work well together
  • engaging with government departments and related public bodies.

The officers also support the work of the taskforce and its subgroups. They gather information about buildings and properties that may be used by businesses. These officers also help to develop and practice the communication strategies.

Local authorities in the Atlantic Economic Corridor

Clare County Council

Donegal County Council

Galway City Council

Galway County Council

Leitrim County Council

Limerick City and County Council

Kerry County Council

Mayo County Council

Roscommon County Council

Sligo County Council

For more information, visit the Atlantic Economic Corridor website.

Part of