A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.


Information on Completed OPW Flood Defence Schemes

Published: 15 January 2019
From: Office of Public Works


On 24th March 2014, Mr. Brian Hayes, TD, Minister of State at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform with special responsibility for the Office of Public Works (OPW), together with Mr. Kevin Thompson, CEO of Insurance Ireland announced details of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Office of Public Works and Insurance Ireland on the exchange of information on completed flood defence works.

The Memorandum of Understanding outlines the principles of agreement between the OPW and Insurance Ireland on the information being provided and how it will be used by the insurance industry. The Office of Public Works will provide Insurance Ireland with data on all completed OPW flood defence schemes which will show the design, extent and nature of the protections offered by these works. Insurance Ireland members, since 1 June 2014, have taken into account all information provided by the OPW when assessing exposure to flood risk within these areas.

The information is provided by the OPW to Insurance Ireland in tranches. Under the initial tranche, information on the following 12 completed flood defence schemes was provided.

  • (River Suir) Clonmel
  • (River Dodder Tidal) Dublin
  • (River Tolka) Dublin
  • (River Tolka) Dublin Fingal
  • (River Tolka) Meath
  • (River Nanny) Duleek
  • (River Bandon) Dunmanway
  • (River Fergus Upper) Ennis
  • (River Blackwater) Fermoy North
  • (River Nore) Kilkenny City
  • (River Mornington) Mornington
  • (River Tullamore) Tullamore

In January 2015, information on the following 5 additional schemes was made available.

  • (Munster Blackwater) Mallow South and West
  • Hazelhatch, Celbridge, Co. Kildare (completed 2000)
  • Derrymullen, Ballinasloe (completed 2010)
  • Carlow (completed 2012)
  • Munster Blackwater (Mallow North)

In March 2017, information on the following additional scheme was made available.

  • Waterford City, Co. Waterford (Completed 2016)

Information on other completed schemes will be provided in due course.

Memorandum of understanding between OPW and Insurance Ireland

Information provided by OPW to Insurance Ireland on the completed flood defence schemes