A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

About the Office of Public Works

Published: 14 November 2019
From: Office of Public Works


The Office of Public Works (OPW) is a government office that delivers public services for flood protection, managing government properties and heritage services.

The OPW, as the leading agency for flood risk management in Ireland, minimises the impacts of flooding through sustainable planning. A core part of its remit is maintaining and presenting Ireland’s most iconic heritage properties, including Ireland’s two World Heritage Sites, 780 National Monuments and over 2,000 acres of gardens and parklands. It also manages a significant part of the State’s property portfolio and provides accommodation for government departments, over 700 Garda Properties and approximately 550 offices.

The OPW was established in 1831, predating the foundation of the State. Its headquarters are in Trim, Co Meath.

It is overseen by the Minister of State at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, with special responsibility for the Office of Public Works and Flood Relief.

Sections of the OPW

The OPW is made up of five divisions:

Further details as to the OPW’s structure and management tiers are available on Who Does What.

Corporate Links