A notice about cookies

This website uses cookies. Some cookies may have been set already. To find out more about our use of cookies you can visit our Privacy policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.


This is a prototype - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Organisation Information

Irish Language Policy

Published: 1 July 2019
From: Department of the Taoiseach

Official Languages Scheme 2019 - 2022

This scheme was prepared in accordance with the Guidelines under Section 12 of the Official Languages Act 2003. it came into force on 1 July 2019.

The Content of the Language Scheme

This scheme builds on the principles of Quality Customer Service, and on the commitment in the department's Customer Charter to ensure that customers who wish to conduct their business through Irish can do so. It sets out the extent to which services are currently available through Irish, and identifies areas for future enhancement.

Please see here for a copy of the scheme.

Copies of our previous schemes from 2005, 2009 and 2016 are available below.

Policy on Publication in Irish and English

In accordance with the Official Languages Act, the following documents are published in both Irish and English simultaneously:

  • any document setting out public policy proposals
  • any annual report
  • any audited account or financial statement
  • any statement of strategy required to be prepared under section 5 of the Public Service Management Act 1997

In addition, in order to recognise the spirit of the Act, and in line with our commitment to Quality Customer Service, we publish a range of other documents in each of the official languages - e.g.:

  • Customer Charter
  • The National Flag
  • Cabinet Handbook
  • The Guide to Government Buildings
  • Public consultation documents
  • Commemorative booklets

Documents which do not set out public policy proposals, have limited circulation, and are aimed at specialist groups, are published in English only at present. Speeches are published on the website in the language in which they were given.

It is our policy that the text and graphics are available in both languages on the main pages of the department's websites.

Contact details of personnel providing an Irish language service

Saoirse Kenny-McKenna
Address: Department of the Taoiseach, Government Buildings, Merrion Street Upper, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, D02 R583
Phone: (01)6194390
Email: gaeilge@taoiseach.ie

Related Files

Official Languages Scheme 2019-2022


Official Languages Scheme 2016-2019


Official Languages Scheme 2009-2012

Official Languages Scheme 2009-2012


Official Languages Scheme 2005 - 2008


Submissions for the Official Languages Scheme 2005